I think the fact that it was one of the strongest snow storms all winter played a huge part in influencing the evening’s events. It was incredibly snowy and windy and freezing cold. Most of the time the streets felt barren and like a no-mans land, with just a few solitary figures being battered by the elements. There were probably a few eyebrows raised after us as we trudged through the storm, smirking and holding up our flags.  Im not sure what the public felt about of my projections, I found that my own thoughts on them changed quite dramatically. When i first started them I kept the projecor on all the time but i found that after a while I became uneasy about shining the word “art?” on just anything. In class we’ve since talked about the responsibility one has when engaging in public acts of art-making. As I was no longer content with the sheer novelty of my light box I began to search for scenerios or environments that called for my question. This caused the function of the projector to change, instead of just lighting up my surroundings, I began to use it to start dialogues with certain elements of the space. Sometimes it was really easy, there were two seperate bus crashes that night and i projected onto both of them quite successfully. The first one was a bus that had slid into a telephone pole or street lamp, it was one of those bendy buses and it had a nice gash in its side where it had slid along the pole. The STM guys were standing about, waiting for a tow truck and the people inside the foyer of the EV were peering through the windows. The second one happened when a bus took a corner too tightly and trapped an A-La Carte delivery car against the curb. The delivery driver was frantically spinning his tires and trying to escape the clutches of this bus but wasnt making very good progress. I hung out on the sidewalk and acted as a crossing guard. This guy was really losing it, foot to the floor, back and forth along the side of this bus, without any regard for the pedestrians walking several feet behind him. I felt like I was involving the people around me in a little joke, turning this scene of desperation into a sort of strange and funny performance.

John Gunner

Leave a Reply

